war horseWhat an entertaining movie! Who knew I’d like War Horse? I’d be lying if I say I’m interested in wars and horses, but I bought a DVD copy of War Horse from (an insanely cheap) sale because its cover says it’s a Steven Spielberg film. I associate Steven Spielberg with the enjoyable Sci-Fi film Super 8; although a quick google told me Steven Spielberg was that movie’s producer and not director. I do know for sure that he’s really a famous brilliant director. Hell, the man made Jurassic Park.

This image is currently unavailable to squibs.

War Horse started slow and cheesy. I’m glad though that I stuck around because the moment Loki (Tom Hiddleston, but I’m calling him Loki) turned up, it got really exciting. (Or maybe I’m just being a biased fangirl here, but hey, the war started just right after we see Loki in this movie. So there was more excitement and less drama) And then oh boy, Sherlock (Benedict Cumberbatch) was in it too! He has a moustache here but if you’re a true Cumberbabe, you’ll recognise him.

Fangirling aside, the movie was excellent in showing a war with a clever and loyal horse being its main focus. Of course it’s sad that people die, but what about the innocent horses used in wars, right? This movie shows that and very excellently too. It’s hard not to like War Horse, considering it has a good plot and production value. Some lines and scenes were even funny.

By the time the movie was done, I couldn’t help liking and admiring the horse Joey that I wish I were in the movie’s last scene and were goddamn rich, so I could have bid for it for more than 1,000 guineas!

